Sunrise at OBX

I love the ocean…I love the beach. There is nothing more beautiful and serene than watching a sunrise or sunset over the ocean.  I went on vacation to the Outer Banks, NC this past summer.  I stayed near the house in Rondanthe, NC that was featured in a movie.  As part of my artistic side venturing out, I decided that I would get up one morning and “film” the sunrise.  Using my Kodak 5 Mp digital camera and my newly acquired camera tripod, I got up at 5 am and trudged out onto the beach.  Being the old sentimental guy that I am, I brought my Sony PSP and Purdue U. throw blanket out there too to play some tunes. 

I set the camera and tripod up facing the most likely direction the sun would pierce the sky and at 0530 hours I started to click one frame, every 5 minutes until way past 0630 hrs.  Interestingly enough, there are still people that go onto the beach at 0600 to walk and jog, even on a cold summer morning.

Back home, I took all of the photos that I had taken from that sequence and sized them down in Photoshop.  This was done in anticipation of a better upload time and rendering time for later. I then took the sequence of pictures into Adobe AfterEffects and also edited and uploaded a clip from the hit single,”Warmth of the Sun” by the Beach Boys.  The only difficulty was getting each picture to appear long enough to give the scene a flowing feel.   Rendering the final video took no time at all and this is the final product of my stop motion animated sunrise over the Outer Banks.

Explore posts in the same categories: Artwork

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

